For our first feature Jeremy Clark visits The Three Nuns Public House near Mirfield which has lost its Historical Name. Jeremy’s article includes a full history of the original Three Nuns Pub which dates back to the 14th century.
Stephen Riley continues his fascinating story of Yorkshire’s railway seaside holiday posters. In this issue he takes us to North Landing at Flamborough which has always been a popular area for tourists. The few railway posters that were produced show the small bay, spectacular chalk cliffs and boats commonly known as Yorkshire cobles. He also explains why Victorian and Edwardian visitors were attracted to Flamborough
Margaret Mills takes a look at Norton Conyers near Ripon which may have a connection with Charlotte Brontë’s novel “Jane Eyre”. Margaret explains that Charlotte visited Norton Conyers in 1839 and it is believed she heard the story of a mad woman locked in the attic in the previous century.
This may have given Charlotte the idea for the unfortunate Mrs Rochester in Jane Eyre, which was published in 1847.
Sarah Harrison and Jeremy Clark visit the site of Kirklees Priory and the Gatehouse which is under construction converting it into a two bedroom house. Their comprehensive article includes all aspects of the Priory, the Nuns Graves the site of Robin Hood’s Grave and the history of the Gatehouse.
To download this issue please click The Yorkshire Journal Winter 2017