Summer is once again with us and in this issue we feature five interesting and captivating articles that look back in time.
For our first feature Claire Mason visits the birthplace of the famous Brontë children at Thornton in Bradford. In Claire’s article she explains how Patrick Brontë first met his wife Maria Branwell and moved to the parsonage at Thornton where Charlotte, Branwell, Emily and Anne were born. The original font in which the Brontë children were baptized can be seen in a new St James Church at Thornton. Following the Brontës’ departure to Haworth the ‘old parsonage’ has undergone several changes. An additional shop frontage was built in 1898 and in the late 1990s it opened as a museum. Today the old parsonage is a café and visitors can see the fireplace in the drawing room in front of which the four children were born.
In our next feature Diana Parsons gives an account of the lives of William and Alice Ellis, two dedicated Quakers. Both were Quaker ministers and married in 1688. As a travelling minster William roamed widely, not only in Yorkshire but also nationally and internationally. Following his return to Airton he resumed attendance at the Settle Monthly Meetings where his wife Alice continued her ministerial duties. William died at Airton in 1709 and eleven years later in 1720 Alice also died. Both were interred in the burial ground attached to the Meeting House next door to their cottage. Before their deaths both conveyed their home and its land to the Friends to provide accommodation for apprentices and travelling ministers. Their Meeting House in Airton is still used for its original purpose.
Then Stephen Riley continues his fascinating story of Yorkshire’s railway seaside holiday posters. In this issue he explores Filey’s Railway Seaside Holiday Posters and the development of the seaside town. He includes Butlin’s Holiday Camp, Filey which closed in 1983 and a visit to the Filey Museum.
Hornsea Museum Volunteers have submitted a detailed article on Hornsea Museum, which is located on Newbegin, the main street in Hornsea. It is housed in a farmhouse and associated buildings dating from the 16th to the 21st century. It is essentially a folk museum with Victorian period rooms and displays village crafts, local history, farming and Hornsea Pottery.
But there is much more to these articles, please read and enjoy them. We welcome your comments.
To download please click Summer 2017