The good news is that the winter issue has now been published, the snowy scene on the cover being quite topical considering the weather of late. The bad news is that it will be the last issue for 12 months.
There is an obvious demand and interest in Yorkshire’s heritage, past and present, for us to continue publication. However, over the past few years some of our members and authors have sadly passed away leaving only a few of us to try and continue regular publication. At times this has proved most difficult for us. So after this winter issue it has been decided to publish an annual issue of the Yorkshire e-Journal which will be published each December.
We hope that our quarterly e-journal has brought pleasure to our readers through the articles and features that have appeared, and that our annual publication will see more new authors with their work in print. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all those readers of The Yorkshire Journal who kindly sent us messages of encouragement expressing their view that the Yorkshire e-Journal is one of those publications which is read and re-read, kept on the computer, copied and sent to relatives, friends and neighbours but never deleted! For our new readers who would like to see what has gone before, it is easy to download back issues of the journal from our website. Each issue contains fascinating articles about the people and the places that make Yorkshire unique.
All the staff at The Yorkshire Journal would like to wish our readers a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year.
For our first feature Jeremy Clark visits The Three Nuns Public House near Mirfield which has lost its Historical Name. Jeremy’s article includes a full history of the original Three Nuns Pub which dates back to the 14th century.
Stephen Riley continues his fascinating story of Yorkshire’s railway seaside holiday posters. In this issue he takes us to North Landing at Flamborough which has always been a popular area for tourists. The few railway posters that were produced show the small bay, spectacular chalk cliffs and boats commonly known as Yorkshire cobles. He also explains why Victorian and Edwardian visitors were attracted to Flamborough
Margaret Mills takes a look at Norton Conyers near Ripon which may have a connection with Charlotte Brontë’s novel “Jane Eyre”. Margaret explains that Charlotte visited Norton Conyers in 1839 and it is believed she heard the story of a mad woman locked in the attic in the previous century.
This may have given Charlotte the idea for the unfortunate Mrs Rochester in Jane Eyre, which was published in 1847.
Sarah Harrison and Jeremy Clark visit the site of Kirklees Priory and the Gatehouse which is under construction converting it into a two bedroom house. Their comprehensive article includes all aspects of the Priory, the Nuns Graves the site of Robin Hood’s Grave and the history of the Gatehouse.
To download this issue please click The Yorkshire Journal Winter 2017